More Than a Prince of Peace

I’ve been wondering lately whether or not God gives a false sense of peace.
Recently there have been some decisions in my life that have seemed like the best for my life and seemed to be what the Lord willed for my life. I felt so peaceful about it, how could I be wrong? He is a good God after all, right? Prince of PEACE ring a bell? Would He give us wonderful opportunities that seem to fit right where he wants us just to yank them away painfully?
Man, it sure seems that way sometimes.

Here’s what I found: He’s more than a Prince of Peace 

Sometimes the reasons he gives us peace are not the reasons we would want peace. Sometimes it’s not a confirmation of what’s to come or proof that “everything will be alright”. Just because we feel peace about a decision doesn’t mean we will get what we want instantaneously, it just means we’ve gotten a glimpse of what dwelling in the will of God looks like. Having peace about a situation doesn’t mean feeling confident that you have God’s plan all figured out, it means you’re in His will AT THAT MOMENT. He doesn’t promise your next breath, so don’t turn His peace into a superstition.

How did I come to this conclusion?
First, I had to define how I felt when I felt “at peace”…

“I feel confident I’ll get what I want…”
“I’m not scared anymore right this second, but I’m still a worried about my future…”
“It’s MY idea, but I want GOD’S peace…”
“It’s not a bad idea so it must be what the Lord wants for me”

“…And he will be called
Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God,
Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.”
Isaiah 9:6

Peace on it’s own is not the answer, Jesus is not only a Prince of Peace but also a Wonderful Counselor with a plan, a Mighty God who is jealous of any worldly idols in our lives and Everlasting Father who longs to comfort us amidst our broken world.

Essentially, Jesus gives not as the world gives, but it’s easy for us to take His peace out of context and turn it into something worldly and superstitious. “I felt such peace, so it must come true!”

“Peace I leave with you; My peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Do not let your heart be troubled, nor let it be fearful.”
John 14:27

Funny how MY version of peace usually includes a troubled and fearful heart as well as the illusion that I have my life figured out…

The Lord doesn’t give a false sense of peace, instead I just depend on a false sense of peace that the world gives and when it lets me down as it always does, I blame God.

But, I’m so thankful that God is an everlasting Father who never ceases comfort and amaze me after worldly peace lets me down and breaks my heart for the millionth time!
He ALONE is the giver of true peace!

Leave a Reply

