There’s Something in the Water

It’s raining outside. It’s magnificently beautiful and it makes me feel beautiful as well. Rain reminds me of a lot of of tiny little problems that fall in places I can’t control, but when they land and morph together, they become something that sparks growth, renewal and creation. It’s part of the reason I love the rain so much. It’s a reminder that the falling apart may be the hard part, but the falling isn’t the only part.

I’ve been pretty restless this week, as I’ve mentioned before. And when I’m restless, I feel the need to do things and to make a difference. I strive to create meaning instead of resting in the fact that Jesus is the one that brings meaning despite my works. When I forget that fact, I frustrate myself, I disappoint myself and I feel like I’m falling apart. It’s hard for me to see beyond my own failed efforts.

Cease striving and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.” Psalm 46:10

All I do is strive most of the time, I’m always going and stretching myself and volunteering for things and cleaning and studying. Striving to be the best version of me.

Today I choose to stop striving and know that God will still be exalted whether I strive or not.

Leave a Reply

