All Your Hopes and Fears

O little town of Bethlehem, how still we see thee lie!
Above thy deep and dreamless sleep the silent stars go by.
Yet in thy dark streets shineth the everlasting Light;
The hopes and fears of all the years are met in thee tonight.

DSCN0719

What a beautiful collision, all my hopes and fears meeting in the Savior of the world. There’s never a cordial introduction when my hopes and fears meet in my own heart and mind. Usually they just take turns overcoming my thoughts. The result is usually many anxious nights trying to make my hopes bigger than my fears or trying to hold my hopes tightly in one hand and my fears in the other, wanting so desperately to control it all and be good at it. My desire is to pursue everything my heart hopes, dreams and imagines but I feel an obligation to ‘handle’ my fears first, all on my own. I can’t live with both without succumbing to anxiety. There’s no way to handle it all, I can’t chase my hopes unhindered without worrying about my fears.

Amazingly enough, my hope for heaven and my fear of the unknown can meet in Christ, my only true hope. He can hold my weary heart, even as a baby. It seems too wonderful to be true.

Imagine looking down on the Bethlehem skyline, every building giving eerie night shadows, not from the moon but from a bright guiding star directly above, bringing with it a haze of peace and security to all who beheld it. Shepherds on the late night shift who usually missed all the action got the first glimpse of eternity in this tiny little baby. Even if they were unsure of the source of the star or the angels, they had to have known, deep down in their souls that things were about to change. Their wildest dreams and darkest fears met together and melted away in the beautiful glory of a baby king.

Where are your hopes and fears today? Battling for control where Jesus should be? Or withering away in the presence of the King?

Leave a Reply

